HIPLA Committees

Amicus Committee
Recommends to the board that amicus curiae briefs be filed in appropriate cases and attends to the preparation of such briefs on behalf of the association under the direction of the board.

Chair: Lee Eubanks
Eubanks PLLC
12777 Jones Rd., Ste. 465
Houston, Texas 77070
Phone: (281) 975-4046
leubanks@eubanksip.com

Annual Federal Judges Dinner Committee
The Annual Federal Judges Dinner Committee is charged with planning and executing the annual dinner honoring the Federal judiciary.

Chair: Carlyn A. Burton
Osha Liang LLP
909 Fannin St. #3500
Houston, TX 77010
Phone: 713-228-8600
burton@oshaliang.com

Annual Fall Institute Committee
Plans and executes the Annual Institute on Intellectual Property Law in conjunction with the Program Planning Committee.

Chair: Tammy Pennington
Baker Botts L.L.P.
One Shell Plaza
910 Louisiana St. Houston, Texas 77002-4995
Phone: 713-229-1972
tammy.pennington@bakerbotts.com

Entertainment Committee
Plans, organizes, and manages parties and social functions of the Association.

Chair: Robert Green
Winston & Strawn LLP
1111 Louisiana, 25th Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-651-2603
RLGreen@winston.com

Giles Rich Moot Court Committee
Plans, organizes, and supervises the Houston regional Giles Rich Moot Court competition.

Chair: Sparkle Ellison
Boulware & Valoir
2603 Augusta Dr., Ste. 1350
Houston, TX 77057
Phone: 832-369-7852
sellison@boulwarevaloir.com

Inventor of the Year Committee
Plans and executes the Annual Institute on Intellectual Property Law in conjunction with the Program Planning Committee.

Chair: Jennifer Sickler
Thompson & Knight LLP
811 Main Street, Suite 2500
Houston, Texas 77002-6129
Phone: 713-653-8611
jennifer.sickler@tklaw.com

Law School Relations Committee
Provides liaison between HIPLA and the Houston-area law schools, and their faculty and students, concerning intellectual property law matters.

Chair: Jorge Lozano
Phone: 956-534-8911
jorge.lozano27@gmail.com

Meeting Arrangements and Programs Committee
Plans, organizes, and supervises the arrangements, program speakers, and management of the meetings, dinners, and other functions of the Association, subject to the approval of the President.

Chair: Viddy Harris
Patterson + Sheridan LLP
24 Greenway Plaza, Ste 1600
Houston, Texas 77046
Phone: 713-577-4806
vharris@pattersonsheridan.com

Membership Committee
Promotes and encourages new members to join the Association and organizes and distributes an annual pictorial directory of members.

Chair: Vinu (Vinny) Raj
Haynes and Boone, LLP
1221 McKinney St., Ste. 2100
Houston, TX 77010
Phone: 713-547-2060
vinu.raj@haynesboone.com

Scholarship/Fellowship Committee
Receives, reviews, and recommends worthy applications from students at local Law Schools wishing to receive scholarships who have a demonstrated interest in intellectual property law.

Also receives, reviews, and recommends worthy applications from applicants wishing to receive fellowships to work as interns in the Houston offices of a U.S. District Court Judge or a U.S. Magistrate Judge, at the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, or at the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

Chair: Palak Shah
Shook Hardy & Bacon L.L.P.
600 Travis St., Ste. 3400
Houston, Texas 77002
Phone: 713-546-5680
pshah@shb.com

Science Fair Committee
Organizes members of the Association to serve as judges for the international and local Science Engineering Fair, provides for appropriate Association award(s), and arranges an appropriate ceremony for the presentation of the award(s).

Chair: Luke Parsons
Exxon Mobil Corp.
22777 Springwoods Village Parkway
Spring, Texas 77389
luke.a.parsons@exxonmobil.com

Website and Social Media Committee
Leverage technology to manage communications between HIPLA, its members and the public at large.

Chair: Thomas Carter
Baker Botts L.L.P.
One Shell Plaza
910 Louisiana St.
Houston, Texas 77002-4995
713-229-1505
Thomas.carter@bakerbotts.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software