HIPLA Committees

Amicus Committee
Recommends to the board that amicus curiae briefs be filed in appropriate cases and attends to the preparation of such briefs on behalf of the association under the direction of the board.

Co-Chair: Jeff Andrews
Yetter Coleman LLP
811 Main Street, Suite 4100
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-632-8071
jandrews@yettercoleman.com

Co-Chair: DJ Healey
Fish & Richardson PC
1221 McKinney St., Suite 2800
Houston, TX 77010
Phone: 713-654-5300
healey@fr.com

Annual Federal Judges Dinner Committee
The Annual Federal Judges Dinner Committee is charged with planning and executing the annual dinner honoring the Federal judiciary.

Chair: Tammy Pennington Rhodes

Baker Botts LLP

910 Louisiana Street

Houston, Texas 77002

Phone: 713-229-1972

E-mail: tammy.pennington@bakerbotts.com

Annual Fall Institute Committee
Plans and executes the Annual Institute on Intellectual Property Law in conjunction with the Program Planning Committee.

Chair: Dwayne Mason
Greenberg Traurig LLP
1000 Louisiana St., Suite 1700
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-374-3601
masondl@gtlaw.com

Entertainment Committee
Plans, organizes, and manages parties and social functions of the Association.

Chair: Ryan Gum
Occidental Petroleum Corporation 
1201 Lake Robbins Dr.
The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone: 832-636-3272
ryan_gum@oxy.com

Giles Rich Moot Court Committee
Plans, organizes, and supervises the Houston regional Giles Rich Moot Court competition.

Chair: Thomas Landers
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
1111 Louisiana St., 44th Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-250-2137

Inventor of the Year Committee
Plans and executes the Annual Inventor of the Year award in conjunction with the Program Planning Committee.

Chair: Christopher McKeon
Arnold & Saunders, LLP
4900 Woodway Dr., Suite 900
Houston, TX 77056
Phone: 713-972-1947
cmckeon@arnold-iplaw.com

Law School Relations Committee
Provides liaison between HIPLA and the Houston-area law schools, and their faculty and students, concerning intellectual property law matters.

Chair: Jorge Lozano
Phone: 956-534-8911
jorge.lozano27@gmail.com

Meeting Arrangements and Programs Committee
Plans, organizes, and supervises the arrangements, program speakers, and management of the meetings, dinners, and other functions of the Association, subject to the approval of the President.

Co-Chair: Sparkle Ellison
Boulware & Valoir
2603 Augusta Dr., Suite 1350
Houston, TX 77057
Phone: 832-369-7852
sellison@boulwarevaloir.com

Co-Chair: Kristin Lamb
Womble Bond Dickinson LLP
811 Main Street, Suite 3130
Houston, Texas 77002
Phone: 346-998-7843
Kristin.Lamb@wbd-us.com

Membership Committee
Promotes and encourages new members to join the Association and organizes and distributes an annual pictorial directory of members.

Chair: Nila Ray
Fletcher Yoder, P.C.
11450 Compaq Center Drive West
Building 9, Suite 300
Mail Code UP0903
Houston, TX 77070
Phone: 281-970-4545
ray@fyiplaw.com

Patent Agents & Intellectual Property Managers Committee
Plans, organizes, and manages events for patent agents, patent attorneys practicing as a patent agent or manager, and non-registered patent professionals that primarily work in patent preparation, prosecution, and portfolio management
.

Co-Chair: Brandon Hudder
Knauf Insulation
Brandon.Hudder@knaufinsulation.com

Co-Chair: Valerie Moore
Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, LLP
700 Louisiana St., Suite 4100
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-588-7031
vcmoore@vorys.com

Scholarship/Fellowship Committee
Receives, reviews, and recommends worthy applications from students at local Law Schools wishing to receive scholarships who have a demonstrated interest in intellectual property law. Also receives, reviews, and recommends worthy applications from applicants wishing to receive fellowships to work as interns in the Houston offices of a U.S. District Court Judge or a U.S. Magistrate Judge, at the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, or at the United States Patent and Trademark Office
.

Co-Chair: Ron Haggerty
Ronald Haggerty Law Firm
12440 Emily Ct., Suite 101
Sugar Land, TX 77478
Phone: 713-588-7031
ron@ronhaggertylaw.com

Co-Chair: Ira Jamshidi
Hogan Lovells LLP
609 Main St., Suite 4200
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-632-1412
ira.jamshidi@hoganlovells.com

Science Fair Committee
Organizes members of the Association to serve as judges for the international and local Science Engineering Fair, provides for appropriate Association award(s), and arranges an appropriate ceremony for the presentation of the award(s).

Chair: Sarah S. Bittner
Chamberlain, Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Aughtry
1200 Smith Street, 14th Floor
Houston, Texas 77002
Phone: 713-356-1699

Sarah.Bittner@chamberlainlaw.com

Website and Social Media Committee
Leverage technology to manage communications between HIPLA, its members and the public at large.

Chair: Matthew Prater

SABIC Americas, Inc.

2500 CityWest Blvd.

Houston, TX 77042

Email: matthew.prater@sabic.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software